2017 induction

Mayors Joel Baldwin, Alberta Jagoe, James Richetelli, Ben Blake and the Hall of Fame welcomed the public to the 2017 induction ceremony at the Parsons complex. Refreshments were served.

Inductees were chosen at the June meeting of the Milford Hall Of Fame commitee with portraits and articles prepared over the summer for the plaques.
This year 2 women, 2 politicians and the owners of a business have been accepted to represent Milford.

On Wednesday September 20, many previously untold stories were told by those that knew or were related to those honored.

For overcoming many obtacles to becoming the nation's first female Boy Scout leader, it was said about Katherine Pollard that "nevertheless she persisted".

With a background in Nuclear Physical Chemisty, it was claimed that Milford's mayor Lisman could build an atomic bomb but used his vast knowledge to bring differing sides together. An example was when discussing a plan to run a gas pipeline through the city by pointing out to the company's executives the technical flaws in how they did things and thus negotiated a favorable deal for the city.

Joseph Roswell Hawley, 1826–1905
Governor, US Representative, Senator, lawyer, newspaperman, "Fighting Joe”, Civil War major general, founder Connecticut Republican party in 1856 to end slavery.

Harrison’s 1907–2006
Founded by Dry goods men Charles W. Harrison and Alfred E. Gould on 1907. Harrison's is remembered for eclectic inventory and wavy wood floors.

Frederick Louis Lisman 1939–2005
PhD in Nuclear Chemistry, Assistant Professor at Fairfield University, elected in 1989 as Milford's 8th and 6 term mayor, he secured a municipal golf course and head of the harbor’s Listman Landing.

Catherine N. "Kay" Pollard 1918–2006
Kay made national news in her fight to serve as Troop 13’s scoutmaster. In 1988 BSA policy changes pave the way for women scout leaders.

Nanine Lawrence Pond 1869–1950
DAR regent, founder of the Milford Historical Society, benefactor for health, education and Indian welfare.